Connect with us

Prep Sports


1897 – The first Boston Marathon is won by John J. McDermott with a time of 2:55:10. It is the world’s oldest annual marathon.

1900 – The Phillies beat the Braves 19-17 in 10 innings in the highest scoring opening day game in MLB history.

1928 – For the first time since May of 1926, the Yankees fall out of first place.

1930 – Clarence DeMar wins his record seventh Boston Marathon.

1947 – Maurice “Rocket” Richard is named NHL MVP after a 45 goal season.

1991 – Evander Holyfield retains his heavyweight title with a unanimous 12 round decision over George Foreman.

1992 – Michael Jordan wins his sixth straight scoring title after averaging 30.1 points per game.

1997 – The St. Louis Rams select Ohio State offensive tackle Orlando Pace with the first overall pick in the NFL Draft.

1998 – Another scoring title for Michael Jordan, setting a record with his 10th of them, averaging 28.7 points per game. 

2021 – San Jose Sharks forward Patrick Marleau breaks Gordie Howe’s NHL record for most games played.


More in Prep Sports