Connect with us

Prep Sports


1939 – The Baseball Hall of Fame is dedicated in Cooperstown, New York.

1967 – The Washington Senators defeat the White Sox 6-5 in 22 innings in a game that took six hours and 38 minutes to complete, ending at 2:43 AM. This caused MLB to adopt a curfew that no inning may start after 1:00 AM.

1970 – Pittsburgh Pirates pitcher Doc Ellis throws a no-hitter against the San Diego Padres. Ellis would later reveal that he was on LSD during the game.

1979 – The Detroit Tigers hire Sparky Anderson as manager. Anderson would hold the job until 1995, leading the team to the 1984 World Series championship and winning Manager of the Year twice.

1981 – MLB players begin a 50 day strike.

1990 – Yankees closer Dave Righetti becomes the ninth pitcher in baseball history to record 200 career saves.

1990 – Rickey Henderson, then with the A’s, becomes the second player in baseball history to steal 900 bases.

1990 – Cal Ripken Jr. plays in his 1,308th consecutive game, the second most in MLB history.

1991 – The Bulls win their first NBA title, defeating the Lakers in five games.

1997 – The San Francisco Giants defeat the Texas Rangers 4-3 in the first ever interleague game in MLB history.

2000 – San Francisco 49ers quarterback Steve Young retires from the NFL.

2002 – The Lakers complete a sweep of the New Jersey Nets to win the NBA title.

2009 – The Pittsburgh Penguins defeat the Detroit Red Wings in game seven to win the Stanley Cup.

2011 – The Dallas Mavericks win their first NBA championship, beating the Miami Heat in six games.

2016 – The Pittsburgh Penguins win another Stanley Cup, beating the Sharks in game six.

2017 – The Golden State Warriors win the NBA championship by defeating defending champ Cleveland in game five.

More in Prep Sports