Connect with us

This Day in Sports History


1930 – The Montreal Canadiens complete a two-game sweep of Boston to win the Stanley Cup.

1987 – The Cubs trade Dennis Eckersley to the Oakland A’s for three minor leaguers.

1988 – Pittsburgh’s Mario Lemieux wins the NHL scoring title, ending Wayne Gretzky’s streak of eight seasons leading the league in points.

1989 – Michigan beats Seaton Hall in overtime 80-79 to win the NCAA men’s basketball national championship. It’s the first time that a first-year head coach (Steve Fisher) wins a title.

1991 – The White Sox sign Bo Jackson to a one-year contract.

1994 – Charlotte Smith hits a three-pointer at the buzzer to give North Carolina a 60-59 win over Louisiana Tech in the NCAA women’s basketball national championship.

1995 – UCLA wins their first men’s basketball national title in 20 years as the Bruins defeat Arkansas 89-78.

2006 – Florida wins their first NCAA men’s hoops title with a 73-57 win over UCLA. Joakim Noah leads the Gators with 16 points, nine boards, and a record seven blocks.

2006 – Steve Yzerman scores the 692nd and final goal of his career.

2012 – Baylor defeats Notre Dame 80-61 to win the NCAA women’s basketball national championship.

2017 – North Carolina wins their sixth men’s basketball national championship, defeating Gonzaga 71-65.

2019 – San Antonio Spurs coach, and Merrillville grad, Greg Popovich sets an NBA record for the shortest time before an ejection as he receives two technicals and is tossed 63 seconds into a game against Denver.

More in This Day in Sports History