Connect with us

This Day in Sports History


1900 – The American League is formed with teams in Buffalo, Chicago, Cleveland, Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City, Milwaukee, and Minneapolis.

1936 – The Baseball Hall of Fame’s first class is elected. Honorees include Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb, Honus Wagner, Christy Mathewson, and Walter Johnson.

1963 – “Papa Bear” George Halas, Jim Thorpe, and Red Grange are elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

1981 – The American League approves the sale of the White Sox to Jerry Reinsdorf and Eddie Einhorn for $20 million.

1982 – Louisiana Tech’s women’s basketball team’s streak of 54 straight wins comes to and end with a loss to Old Dominion.

1985 – Jari Kurri of the Edmonton Oilers scores his 100th point of the season in just the 39th game.

1995 – The San Francisco 49ers beat the San Diego Chargers 49-26 to win Super Bowl XXIX. Niners quarterback Steve Young is named MVP.

2000 – Utah Jazz forward Karl Malone becomes the third player in NBA history to score 30,000 career points.

2018 – The Cleveland Indians announce that they will remove “Chief Wahoo” from their logo in 2019.

2018 – David Beckham announces his ownership in a new American MLS team, “Miami CF”. 

More in This Day in Sports History