Connect with us

Prep Sports


1940 – National Football League Championship, Griffith Stadium, Washington, D.C.: Chicago Bears beat Washington Redskins, 73-0; most one-sided victory in NFL history; first NFL title game broadcast on national radio.

1942 – 8th Heisman Trophy Award: Frank Sinkwich, Georgia (HB).

1948 – 14th Heisman Trophy Award: Doak Walker, SMU (HB).

1953 – 19th Heisman Trophy Award: Johnny Lattner, Notre Dame (HB).

1955 – 21st Heisman Trophy Award: Howard Cassady, Ohio State (HB).

1955 – Brooklyn catcher Roy Campanella wins his 3rd MVP Award.

1960 – Expansion LA Angels sign a 4 year lease to use Dodger Stadium.

1961 – Larry Costello scores 32 consecutive pts without a miss (NBA rec).

1961 – Wilt Chamberlain scores the 2nd highest total in the NBA – 78.

1966 – A terrible Yankee trade, Roger Maris for Cards’ Charlie Smith.

1967 – NHL California Seals change name to Oakland Seals.

1973 – 39th Heisman Trophy Award: John Cappelletti, Penn State (RB).

1977 – 43rd Heisman Trophy Award: Earl Campbell, Texas (RB).

1987 – Flyers’ Ron Hextall becomes 1st goalie to actually score a goal.

1988 – Knick’s set NBA record of 11 3-pointers & sink Bucks, 113-109.

2007 – 73rd Heisman Trophy Award: Tim Tebow, Florida (QB).

2011 – The NBA and players union reach financial agreement to end a 161-day lockout, shortening the season by 16 games.

2018 – 84th Heisman Trophy Award: Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (QB).


More in Prep Sports