Connect with us

Prep Sports


1909 – Oldest still-operating NHL franchise is officially established as J. Ambrose O’Brien and Jack Laviolette create the “Club de Hockey Canadien,” known today as the Montreal Canadiens.

1914 – Walter Johnson accepts money from Federal League Chicago Whales Clark Griffith threatens to take Johnson to court.

1921 – American Professional Football Association Championship, Cubs Park, Chicago: Chicago Staleys beat Buffalo All-Americans, 10-7 in de facto championship game after teams tied in standings.

1948 – 13th Iron Bowl (first since 1907): Alabama beats Auburn 55-0 in Birmingham.

1949 – Bob Gage ties NFL record of a 97 yard touchdown run.

1956 – Paul Hornung, Notre Dame QB, wins the 22nd Heisman Trophy Award.

1961 – Floyd Patterson KOs Tom McNeeley in 4 for heavyweight boxing title.

1961 – Smallest NY Knick, Madison Square Garden crowd of 1,300 because of a snowstorm.

1963 – Boston Bruins’ right wing Andy Hebenton sets a new NHL record by playing in his 581st consecutive game in 2-2 tie with Chicago Blackhawks; reaches 630 straight games.

1964 – Baseball approves a free-agent draft.

1964 – Commissioner’s office given full powers in baseball disputes.

1965 – 2nd NY Knicks game postponed (due to death of opponent 76ers’ owner).

1977 – NFL’s 5,000th game, Cincinnati beats KC 27-7.

1979 – Cleveland Cavaliers retire jersey # 7, Bingo Smith.

1980 – Islanders end 15 game undefeated streak (13-0-2) (Col Rockies).

1982 – Herschel Walker, Georgia RB, wins the 48th Heisman Trophy Award.

1988 – Orioles trade veteran 1B Eddie Murray to the Dodgers.

1988 – Edmonton center Jimmy Carson becomes just the third player to score 6 NHL hat tricks before the age of 21 in the Oilers 10-6 win over the New York Rangers.

1996 – Orlando Magic tie NBA record of fewest points scored since inception of 24 second clock losing to Cleveland Cavaliers, 84-57.

2018 – Ownership group Seattle Hockey Partners led by billionaire businessman Davis Bonderman is unanimously granted an NHL license by the Board of Governors; to start play 2020-21 season at KeyArena.

More in Prep Sports