Connect with us

Prep Sports


1921 – AL votes to return to best-of-7 World Series, while NL votes best-of-9 Judge Kenesaw Mountain Landis casts deciding vote for best-of-7.

1925 – National Football League Championship: Chicago Cardinals (11-2-1) win controversial first past the post title; Pottsville Maroons suspended after playing unsanctioned game.

1938 – Boston Bruins rookie goalie Frankie Brimsek records his 3rd straight shutout with a 3-0 win over the New York Americans, making it his incredible sixth shutout in his first 8 NHL games.

1940 – Connie Mack acquires controlling interest in the Athletics for $42,000.

1966 – NBA awards Seattle Supersonics a franchise for 1967-68 season.

1973 – Montreal Canadien Henri Richard scores his 1,000th NHL point
1979 – Philadelphia Flyers defenseman Behn Wilson scores with 4:08 remaining in regulation to earn a 1-1 tie with the Pittsburgh Penguins and equal NHL record for longest undefeated streak of 28 games; go on to break record and extend to 35 games.

1980 – NBC broadcasts NY Jets’ 24-17 win over Dolphins without audio.

1983 – NY Islanders score their most goals (11) vs Pittsburgh Penguins.

1985 – Sportscaster Howard Cosell retires from television sports after 20 years with ABC.

1991 – NHL grants adds the franchises Tampa Lightning & Ottawa Senators

More in Prep Sports