Connect with us

Prep Sports


1933 – The Chicago Bears’ 30 game unbeaten streak is snapped with a 10-0 loss to Boston.

1954 – Montreal Canadiens center Jean Beliveau scores three goals in 44 seconds for the second fastest hat trick in NHL history.

1965 – Dyer Central plays the last game in program history, losing to Lowell 40-7. The school would become Lake Central.

1968 – Denny McLain of the Detroit Tigers becomes the first pitcher to win AL MVP, winning the award unanimously.

1971 – The Los Angeles Lakers begin an NBA record 33 game winning streak.

1976 – The Merrillville Pirates win their first ever football sectional championship, beating Valpo 35-14.

1978 – Oakland Raiders coach John Madden becomes the 13th coach in pro football history to win 100 games.

1982 – The Cleveland Cavaliers lose their 24th consecutive game, an NBA record.

1993 – The Whiting Oilers win their first ever football sectional championship, beating South Newton 20-14.

1996 – Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter is named AL Rookie of the Year.

2004 – In what some consider the greatest game in Region football history, Andrean rallies to erase a fourth quarter deficit against Griffith and win on a two point conversion in the sectional championship at The Boneyard.

More in Prep Sports