Connect with us

This Day in Sports History


1930 – The Montreal Canadiens complete a two game sweep of Boston to win the Stanley Cup.

1987 – The Cubs trade Dennis Eckersley to the Oakland A’s for three minor leaguers.

1988 – Pittsburgh’s Mario Lemieux wins the NHL scoring title, ending Wayne Gretzky’s streak of eight seasons leading the league in points.

1989 – Michigan beats Seaton Hall in overtime 80-79 to win the NCAA men’s basketball national championship. It’s the first time that a first year head coach (Steve Fisher) wins a title.

1991 – The White Sox sign Bo Jackson to a one year contract.

1994 – Charlotte Smith hits a three-pointer at the buzzer to give North Carolina a 60-59 win over Louisiana Tech in the NCAA women’s basketball national championship.

1995 – UCLA wins their first men’s basketball national title in 20 years as the Bruins defeat Arkansas 89-78.

2006 – Florida wins their first NCAA men’s hoops title with a 73-57 win over UCLA. Joakim Noah leads the Gators with 16 points, nine boards and a record seven blocks.

2006 – Steve Yzerman scores the 692nd and final goal of his career.

2012 – Baylor defeats Notre Dame 80-61 to win the NCAA women’s basketball national championship.

2017 – North Carolina wins their sixth men’s basketball national championship, defeating Gonzaga 71-65.

2019 – San Antonio Spurs coach, and Merrillville grad, Greg Popovich sets an NBA record for shortest time before an ejection as he receives two techincals and is tossed 63 seconds into a game against Denver.

More in This Day in Sports History