This Day in Sports History: 11/8

  • 1951- Yogi Berra wins first of three AL MVP (.294 average, 27 HR’s, 88 RBI)

  • 1952- Maurice Richard, Montreal Canadiens, scores his 325th career goal to break 1940 record set by Nels Stewart.

  • 1961- Whitey Ford wins AL Cy Young (25-4, 3.21 ERA, 11 complete games).

  • 1963 – The Merrillville Pirates end the season with a 13-7 win over Gary Wirt at Trooper Field in Miller.

  • 1966- Frank Robinson, Baltimore Orioles, wins AL MVP.  He was the first player to win MVP in both leagues (.316 average, 49 HR’s, 122 RBI).

  • 1968 – Chesterton stops Lowell’s eight-winning streak with a 19-14 win over the Red Devils. Les Klein’s Lowell team posts the school’s best record (8-2) in 32 years.

  • 1970- Tom Dempsey, New Orleans Saints, hits an NFL-record 63-yard field goal at Tulane Stadium.  He was born without toes on his kicking foot.

  • 1973 – EC Roosevelt closes out the season with a 30-29 win over Gary Wallace.

  • 1985 – Leroy Marsh and the Munster Mustangs bring home the school’s first ever sectional championship trophy with a 23-7 win at Bishop Noll.

  • 1985 – The Merrillville Pirates win the school’s second sectional title with a 14-7 victory over the Crown Point Bulldogs.

  • 1986 – The Valparaiso Vikings win the IHSAA Boys Cross Country state championship.

  • 1990- Darryl Strawbery signs 5-year deal with LA Dodgers.

  • 1991- Cal Ripken Jr. wins AL MVP (.323, 34 HR’s, 114 RBI).

  • 1991- Paul Coffey, Pittsburgh Penguins, scores his 311th goal to set record for an NHL defensemen.

  • 1991 – Ivan Zimmer’s Andrean 59ers defeat the Munster Mustangs 21-0 at Father Eckert Field to win their third straight sectional title. 

  • 1991 – Les Thorton and the Griffith Panthers win their second consecutive and fourth overall sectional title with a 34-0 win over Bishop Noll.

  • 1992- Sacramento Kings defeat Los Angeles Lakers in Los Angeles for the first time since 1974.  Lost in Los Angeles 43 straight times.

  • 1996 – The Munster Mustangs captured their fifth and most recent sectional title with a 7-0 win over Shane Radtke and the Griffith Panthers at the Marsh Lands. The Panthers had their chances but after losing seven of 10 fumbles, their sectional championship dreams died in a mud-splattered heap near the Munster goal line. 

  • 1997- Tampa Bay Devil Rays name Larry Rothschild as their first manager.

  • 1998- Sammy Sosa wins NL MVP (.306 average, 66 HR’s, 158 RBI).

  • 1998- Jeff Gordon wins NAPA 500 in Atlanta.  Tied Richard Petty’s NASCAR record of 13 wins in a season.

  • 2002 – Griffith wins their 11th sectional championship by beating the Morton Governors 62-34. Under the guidance of head coach Roy Richards, the Governors appear in their first ever sectional title game – and the first of eight for the program during the Richards era.

  • 2004- Jason Bay wins rookie of the year (.282 average, 26 HR’s, 82 RBI).

  • 2005- Bartolo Colon wins AL Cy Young (21-8, 3.48 ERA, 157 strikeouts).

  • 2013 – A week after winning the school’s first and only sectional of the 21st century, the Lake Central Indians fall to Penn 34-6 at Freed Field near Mishawaka.

By |2017-11-08T14:08:31+00:00November 8th, 2017|This Day In Sports|Comments Off on This Day in Sports History: 11/8

About the Author: